

HAWII LAND DIVISIONS

HAWAII NEI

All of the inhabited islands of the Hawaiian chain. For this project that will include: Hawaii, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, Oahu, Kauai, and Niihau.

MOKUPUNI

A single island in Hawaii Nei. For example - Oahu. The mokupuni boundary is the island's shoreline.

MOKU (3)

Purple outlined polygons. A traditional Hawaiian major division of an island. It is analogous to a bioregion. Moku are made up of adjacent watersheds, bounded by shoreline and mountain ridges. Each moku is distinguished by differences in characteristics like rainfall, winds, topography, orientation, soil, flora & fauna. All the moku cover all of an island (mokupuni). Moku can be viewed as Hawaiian environment types. For example Kona Moku translates to Leeward Division; southwest orientation, dry, gently sloped. Koolau Moku translates to Windward Division; northeast orientation, wet, steeply sloped. east orientation, wet, steeply sloped.

AHUPUAA (20)

Red outlined polygons. A traditional Hawaiian division within a moku. Each ahupuaa is thought of as a separate sustainable unit in which people lived. Each ahupuaa is made up of one or more adjacent watersheds bounded by shoreline and mountain ridges. An exception would be when two sustainable valleys that are separated distinctly by a mountain ridge and that are separated distinctly by a mountain ridge and their streams join close to the sea, those valleys will constitute two ahupuaa and the joined stream becomes part of their boundary. All the ahupuaa in a moku cover all of the moku.

CRITERIA

Maps by Samuel P. Kalama (1837 & 1938) were used as a foundation for Moku and Ahupuaa divisions. These as a foundation for Moku and Ahupuaa divisions. These divisions are based also on traditional descriptions of location, with boundaries modified to follow watersheds, contours and streams derived from from Hawaii State DBEDT GIS data laid over 3D modelling and aerial photography provided by GoogleEarth. Additional corroboration was acquired through contemporary USGS 7.5° topographical maps and 19th century island surveys by W. D. Alexander.

CONVENTION

As was established by Kalama, the Hawaiian names on our maps are without diacritical marks. Also, the MOKU are set uppercase, the Ahupuaa are capitalized. The lack of diacritical marks has allowed cleaner translation of files exchanged between computer applications required to produce this work.



LICENSED PROFESSIONAL ARCHITECT No. 10138

Org 6716 Hawai dB Ö **by** 84 **Q** 5 **D** m Mapping Post Office I **S**

Na

committee Adviso Kiole

Ci

Aha

01 AUG 2010 REV 1.1.0